NIJAC Commissioners welcome the Appointment of District Judge Anne Marshall to the Northern Ireland Judicial Appointments Commission

The Commissioners at the Northern Ireland Judicial Appointments Commission (NIJAC) have welcomed the appointment of District Judge (Magistrates’ Courts) Anne Marshall to serve on the Northern Ireland Judicial Appointments Commission.

First Minister, Michelle O’Neill, MLA, and the deputy First Minister, Emma Little Pengelly, MLA, made the appointment which is for a 5 year term from 11 March 2024 to 10 March 2029.

Ms Anne Marshall qualified as a solicitor in 1998 and practised for 11 years in criminal and human rights law. She was appointed a Deputy District Judge (Magistrate’s Court) in August 2013 and a District Judge (Magistrates’ Courts) in June 2022.

The Commission is chaired by the Lady Chief Justice, the Right Honourable Dame Siobhan Keegan and 12 other members: five Judicial Members, and five Lay Members and two Legal Members.

For more information about the work of the Commissioners at the Northern Ireland Judicial Appointments Commission (NIJAC) visit NIJAC Commissioners