The First Minister and deputy First Minister appoints Commissioner

03 June 2021 - 11.15 am


Mr Paul Douglas has been reappointed as a Lay Member of the Commission on the 2 June 2021 for a four year term.

Mr Douglas will work to ensure NIJAC continues to deliver sound governance and stewardship of public funds, whilst ensuring that the assessment and selection processes deliver on NIJAC’s statutory remit and the most meritorious appointments are made, based upon open and fair processes.

To read more about Mr Paul Douglas please click here

The Commission comprises a Chairman who is the Lord Chief Justice and 12 other members:-

  • five Judicial Members;
  • two Legal Profession Members (a barrister nominated by the General Council of the Bar and a solicitor nominated by the Law Society); and
  • five Lay Members (Recruited by an open competition regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments NI.)

To view all NIJAC Commissioners click here