Appointment of The Honourable Mr Justice Mark Horner as NIJAC Commissioner

13 September 2021 - 12.15 pm

The Honourable Mr Justice Mark Horner

NIJAC welcomes the news that the First Minister, Paul Givan, MLA, and the deputy First Minister, Michelle O’Neill MLA have appointed The Honourable Mr Justice Mark Horner to the NI Judicial Appointments Commission (NIJAC). Mr Justice Horner replaces Dame Siobhan Keegan, Lady Chief Justice as the High Court Judge Commissioner in NIJAC.

The appointment is for a 5-year term from 8 September 2021 to 7 August 2026.

To read more about Mr Justice Horner please click here

Tonya McCormac, Chief Executive of NIJAC, remarked, “ I am delighted that The Honourable Mr Justice Mark Horner is joining the Commission and I look forward to working with him.”


The Commission comprises a Chair who is the Lady Chief Justice and 12 other members:-

  • five Judicial Members;
  • two Legal Profession Members (a barrister nominated by the General Council of the Bar and a solicitor nominated by the Law Society); and
  • five Lay Members (Recruited by an open competition regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments NI.)


The Commissioners work to ensure NIJAC continues to deliver sound governance and stewardship of public funds, whilst ensuring that the assessment and selection processes deliver on NIJAC’s statutory remit and the most meritorious appointments are made, based upon open and fair processes.

To view all NIJAC Commissioners click here